No Artist – River’s Edge (C92, Worthless Recordings)

on

River’s Edge is a crime drama film from 1986 starring Keanu Reeves and Dennis Hopper. Worthless Recordings, in its visionary creativity, decided that perhaps it might be interesting to put film to tape, stripping away the visuals for only the auditory experience. I’ve never seen River’s Edge, besides hearing it on this tape, but now that I know the subject matter I think I’d like to.

It’s a bit difficult to review a movie that you hear, and I won’t spend any time discussing the merits of the film because that’s not what we’re here for. Instead, I’ll talk about the dubbing, which is quite excellent and crystal clear. Worthless Recordings has done a few interesting things here and there, and I will say that this cassette is a form of media that takes us back in time to the days of radio programs. As a child of the digital age, it’s difficult for me to listen rather than watch, and so I often struggled with this tape in a whole different way, not because it was hard to listen to but because of my own jittery personality.

While I don’t know how often I would listen to River’s Edge (if at all), it’s an interesting experience without a doubt. On my own dime, I probably wouldn’t buy this simply because I wouldn’t get as much use out of it. But for those who enjoy listening rather than watching, this might be a good way to check out some movies – or if you’ve already seen River’s Edge, it’s a unique way to experience it.

Leave a Reply

